200 Games, 200 Words: 11 – Dead Island

I got Dead Island in a bundle. I’ve bought so many game bundles, I can’t remember which one it was in. But in most game bundles there are three kinds of games: the ones you’re buying the bundle for, the ones you might play since you’re getting them in the bundle, and the ones you know you’ll never touch. When I got Dead Island, I thought I’d at least give it a shot some time, but now I kind of wish I hadn’t.

Hit zombies. Repeat until bored.

Hit zombies. Repeat until bored.

Dead Island would’ve disappeared into the bargain bins without a glance if it hadn’t been for its infamously misleading trailer, which turned out to have nothing to do with the actual game. This shouldn’t have surprised anybody, but somehow it meant that Dead Island got a lot more attention on release than it deserved, so it was an effective marketing strategy. If you think games journalists would know better by now, you don’t know anything about games journalism.

Okay. I'm gonna get your money for ya. But if you don't get the President of the United States on that phone, you know what's gonna happen to you? You're gonna have to answer to the Coca-Cola company.

Okay. I’m gonna get your money for ya. But if you don’t get the President of the United States on that phone, you know what’s gonna happen to you? You’re gonna have to answer to the Coca-Cola company.

In any case, Dead Island is pretty much worthless garbage. It has an incredibly boring open world, devoid of anything even gesturing at character, and nothing much to do in it but an endless succession of fetch and kill quests. The combat has some interesting ideas, but it doesn’t make up for the lack of any imagination or even ambition in the rest of the game. Even as part of a bundle, Dead Island isn’t just poor value, it’s negative value. I don’t want my money back, I want to be paid for the time I’ve lost playing this game.

One thought on “200 Games, 200 Words: 11 – Dead Island

  1. Pingback: 200 Games, 200 Words: 14 – Dying Light | Macrotransactions

Leave a Reply

