200 Games, 200 Words: 1 – Sir, You Are Being Hunted

Sir is something like a British S.T.A.L.K.E.R., or maybe a DayZ, with a twist of Minecraft’s procedurally-generated landscapes, and a ton of tweedy charm. The environments are beautiful, and the robots are equal parts terrifying and amusing. Sir is everything that’s wonderful about systemic games, and I felt like a goddamn genius when I lured some robots away from a piece of the device by lighting a cooking fire, then snuck around behind them to grab the piece and bugger off.
Bad dreams in the night/They told me I was going to lose the fight

“…the pipe-smoking robot flew down the steep road; then, quitting its windings, shot direct across the moor…”

I really, really like this game, but I’ve only finished it once, and I have two concerns. First, “collect the MacGuffins” is becoming overly familiar as a goal in procedurally-generated games. Second, and more complicated, is that procedurally-generated games always make me feel like I’ve seen pretty much everything I’m likely to see, far earlier than their promise of endless variations might suggest. While the environments are never identical, variations that feel significantly different are fairly rare, and the nature of procedural generation means you’ll mostly see stuff that falls within a certain band of stuff that looks much the same. It’s nice that the monkeys occasionally produce some Shakespeare, but the truth is, mostly they don’t.
Leave a Reply

